top of page
  • paigehunt6

The Art of Science Fiction

The science fiction genre covers a wide variety of movies to enjoy, making it difficult to choose a few of my favorites. I’ve decided to include movies that have stood out to me as well as a few of my childhood favorites. Science fiction can be a difficult genre to pull off because it requires the right mix of reality and creativity, but these movies make it work.



Arrival (2016)

While many science fiction movies seem to follow a similar pattern, Arrival stands out in its genre. The movie offers a unique twist that bends both the characters’ and viewers’ perception of reality. Arrival was a movie I had to sit with long after I watched it not only for its unique twist but also for the emotional impact it made on me. Although I’ve seen Arrival multiple times, I always find something new to focus on. The use of flashbacks and a nonlinear narrative makes this film feel fresh with each viewing. I enjoyed the way the ending is laid out right in front of you, but you have to follow the characters' journey to truly understand it.


Inception (2010)

Inception is another science fiction film that has left a lasting impression on me. I remember watching Inception when I was young and being absolutely floored by the way the story was told through special effects. Even though technology has greatly improved since Inception’s release, this film still holds up in regards to its thematic and visual composition. Christopher Nolan’s direction does an excellent job of propelling the narrative along while still allowing the audience to piece the story together. One thing I enjoy most about Inception is the way you must put faith in most of what the characters reveal but ultimately leaves the ending for viewers to interpret as their own.


Dune (2021)

I went into Dune without knowing much about the movie, but I walked away with a new appreciation for cinematography. Dune was one of the most visually appealing science fiction films I’ve seen in a while. Although I found myself comparing it to Star Wars, the story still retains a distinctly different feel than George Lucas’ work. I really liked the unique world-building and attention to detail that came with each new environment. Sure, this movie had some slower moments, but it’s clear that it’s building up for a dramatic and thrilling series. I’m looking forward to seeing what the rest of the Dune movies have in store because this series feels like classics in the making.


Treasure Planet (2002)

As far as Disney movies go, Treasure Planet is both highly underrated and wholly unworthy of its lack of attention. The plot follows young Jim Hawkins and his travels across the universe to uncover lost treasure. Based on the novel, Treasure Island, this film takes place not only in the future, but also in space, making it a creative take on science fiction. The imagery is unlike any other Disney movie before thanks to its blend of CGI and 2D animation. It’s hard to know where to look because each scene is packed with such vivid landscapes and characters. I especially like how well the soundtrack pairs with the animation because it makes you feel as though you are soaring through outer space alongside the characters. Although Treasure Planet often rests among Disney’s forgotten works, this movie made its way into my heart as a child and continues to delight me, even now.


Jurassic Park (1993)

Jurassic Park is one of the most successful science fiction films, and in my opinion, it’s for a good reason. Jurassic Park combines prehistoric materials with futuristic technology for an adventure-packed thrill. The characters are funny and instantly likable, and as a child, I was envious of the time they got to spend in the jungle park. As far as science fiction goes, this movie is not too far-fetched, and despite the somewhat cheesy effects, Jurassic Park is an enjoyable film I’m happy to revisit. Although a successful franchise has grown out of Jurassic Park, nothing will ever be able to top the original masterpiece.



About Me

IMG_9875.jpg

Hey! I'm Paige. I love watching movies and reviewing them. Be sure to check out my post for my film thoughts and opinions!

Posts Archive

Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page