top of page
  • paigehunt6

Mysteries of March

Mystery movies are such a fun genre to watch because, in a way, you as an audience member get to participate in the chase right alongside the characters. I love getting invested in a good thriller, and while it is satisfying to guess the ending correctly, I am always much more surprised when a film manages to catch me off guard. For this entry, I wanted to share some of my favorite mystery movies that I enjoy either for their shocking conclusion or the way they handle a serious topic with a good sense of humor. Regardless of what type of mystery you are looking for, I am sure at least one of these movies is sure to fit your fancy.





Murder on the Orient Express (2017)

Agatha Christie’s murder mystery novel is brought to life on screen in Murder on the Orient Express. The story follows accomplished detective, Hercule Pointe, as he embarks on an expedition to London via train. After an avalanche blocks the tracks, panic breaks out among the passengers, resulting in one of them being murdered. Hercule’s skills are called upon to solve the case before the authorities arrive. Although I was determined to figure out the culprit before the end of the movie, I never would have guessed the ending of Murder on the Orient Express. The movie kept me on my toes because there were many suspects with suspicious motives. The diverse cast and twist ending of Murder on the Orient Express makes it one of my favorite mystery films and one I would recommend to thrill lovers.


Charade (1963)

Although not as intense as most modern mystery movies, Charade manages to be charming and humorous with its mid-century Hollywood flare. The film stars Audrey Hepburn as Reggie, an American woman living in Paris who recently finds herself as a widow when her husband is murdered. Reggie is left with nothing but a bag of seemingly useless items and the threat of her husband’s killers looming over her. She enlists the help of a fellow American she befriends named Peter, played by Cary Grant. The two form a precarious relationship and set out to find Reggie’s husband’s murderer once and for all. Charade surprised me with its light sense of humor and charming characters. Between peoples’ shrouded backgrounds and ulterior motives, it is hard to know who to trust in the film, but that makes it all the more enjoyable to watch. Hepburn and Grant are certainly a dynamic duo who know how to win over their audience, and I am no exception.


Knives Out (2019)

Knives Out is another mystery film that had me doing double-takes throughout the length of the feature. Centered on a young caretaker named Marta, Knives Out revealed the drama a wealthy family must contend with after their patriarch is murdered. With so many relatives to pose as potential culprits, detective Blanc takes it upon himself to seek out the true criminal. The movie is well paced and reveals just enough to keep you hooked. Just when I thought I had Knives Out figured out, the film threw me for a loop. The eccentric characters and unique plot help make Knives Out a memorable mystery thriller you don’t want to miss.


Clue (1985)

Based on the board game, Clue is a humorous take on the classic “whodunit” plot. The story revolves around six central characters who seemingly have nothing in common. The group begins as strangers when they show up at a reclusive mansion under various aliases. The characters soon discover the reason they were invited to the mansion was because they were all being blackmailed by the anonymous Mr. Body. Things take a turn for the worse when members of the house begin showing up dead and no one knows who’s behind it or how to stop it. Although it’s filled with cheesy jokes and exaggerated acting, Clue was one of the first mystery films I watched, so it will always have a special place in my heart. No matter how many times I watch, I can’t help but have a good time watching the story come to life.


Gone Girl (2014)

Gone Girl is a dark mystery about the troubled marriage that becomes further estranged when Nick’s wife, Amy, goes missing on the morning of their anniversary. To make matters worse, much of the evidence points to Amy being murdered—and Nick, despite claiming innocence, is the number one suspect. As the film goes on, dark secrets are revealed that shock the fictional characters and audience members alike. Gone Girl takes the trope of the “perfect” suburban couple and subverts it in a menacing and fascinating manner. While some mystery movies are overdone and predictable, the wonderful cinematography of Gone Girl perfectly compliments the captivating tale and had me in shock long after the credits began rolling.



About Me

IMG_9875.jpg

Hey! I'm Paige. I love watching movies and reviewing them. Be sure to check out my post for my film thoughts and opinions!

Posts Archive

Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page