top of page
  • paigehunt6

Coming of Age Comes to a Close

As my senior year of high school quickly draws to a close, I feel it is only fitting that for the genre for this post to be coming of age movies. Coming of age films tend to rank among people’s favorites because their purpose is to hit close home and portray relatable emotions and experiences. I find myself loving coming of age films because there’s something comforting in knowing that I’m not alone in my journey through life. For my final blog update as a high schooler, I’m going to share with you a few coming of age movies that have a special place in my heart.

Stand by Me (1986)

If you look up “coming of age movies,” there’s a good chance Stand by Me is among the top results. The story follows four young boys and their quest to uncover a local mystery. Along the way, the boys discover the true meaning of friendship and learn a lot about each other and about themselves as well. Stand by Me has such a nostalgic feel because almost everyone can relate to going on adventures with their childhood friends. The movie is funny and acute and overall just a great representation of the wonders that come with being young. Although we all get older at some point, Stand by Me makes it clear that as long as you retain that sense if wonder, you never truly have to grow up.


Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986)

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off is a more lighthearted take on the classic coming of age story. Ferris Bueller is cool and confident, with a great sense of humor and a taste for mischief. One day, he decides to fake being sick so he can skip class and travel to Chicago with his friends. Meanwhile, he has to evade his principal, who is doing everything in power to catch Ferris in the midst their antics. Even though the movie can be a little cheesy at times, its humor and enthusiasm makes it an worthwhile watch. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off reminds that there’s more to life than just playing it safe, and it’s important to slow down and enjoy each and every moment.


Almost Famous (2000)

Just from watching the very first scene in Almost Famous, I knew it was going to be one of my favorites. The movie centers on Will Miller, a high schooler in the 70s who longs to write articles about the thrills of rock and roll. When Will is given the opportunity to cover a story for The Rolling Stones, he jumps at the chance and joins the rock band, Stillwater, on their cross country tour. Along the way, he experiences the highs and lows that come with fame and talent. In addition to managing his writing, Will must also contend with newfound relationships, especially with self-proclaimed “Band Aid” Penny Lane. Almost Famous captures the heart of rock and roll on a level that the audience can connect with. Although I’ll never experience the same things as Will and Penny, I relate to many of their struggles and desires and have been inspired to pursue my own dreams.


The Breakfast Club (1985)

When it comes to coming of age movies, there’s no doubt that the 80s did it best. The Breakfast Club is one of the most iconic films of all time and yet, at its core, it's just a simple story about five high school students who all get stuck in the same detention. That’s not to say it’s a simple movie. In fact, The Breakfast Club is one of my favorite movies because of how deeply it resonates with me. In the beginning of the film, the characters are virtual strangers who only know each other as two-dimensional stereotypes. However, as the movie goes on, each teenager reveals that they are not just a brain, an athlete, a basket case, a princess and a criminal; they are so much more. The Breakfast Club made me realize that we should never judge a book by its cover because there is always more to someone than what meets the eye.

Dead Poets Society (1989)

Dead Poets Society is one of those movies that I can watch again and again and never get tired of. The film revolves around a group of teenage boys as they navigate the pressures and expectations of an elite boarding school in the 1950s. The boys are used to strict rules and codes of conduct, but everything changes when a new English teacher named Mr. Keating is hired. Mr. Keating teaches his students that life is about more than just textbooks and essays. He teaches them the value of friendship and the importance of forging your own path. The theme of carpe diem really hits home when the kids experience a tragedy that makes them aware of how important it is to seize each and every day. Although Dead Poets Society breaks my heart everytime I watch it, its lovable characters and profound message make it a worthwhile endeavor that I never fail to enjoy.



About Me

IMG_9875.jpg

Hey! I'm Paige. I love watching movies and reviewing them. Be sure to check out my post for my film thoughts and opinions!

Posts Archive

Tags

No tags yet.
bottom of page